South East schools shortlisted in Tes Schools Awards 2023

Fifteen schools from Sussex and Surrey have been included in the nationwide shortlist for the 2023 Tes Schools Awards, published today.

The shortlist for the 15th Tes Schools Awards, one of the biggest nights in the education calendar, includes inspiring educators from across the UK. It’s a huge achievement for those teachers and schools who have been shortlisted, showcasing the very best of what the UK education sector has to offer.

The Tes Schools Awards recognises the very best teachers and schools from UK state and independents, including early years settings, primary and secondary.

The panel of awards judges include school leaders, experts and education researchers. The objectivity, professionalism and high standards of the Tes Schools Awards judges and the judging process has helped establish them as a well-respected achievement for any school chosen as a finalist or winner.

This year there are 20 award categories including two special awards, honouring the classroom Resource of the Year and a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Tes editor and chief judge of the Tes Schools Awards Jon Severs said: “With these awards we honour the education community, whom we have served for over 112 years. This year has seen some incredibly high quality entries. So every teacher and school who has been named in this shortlist should be very proud – it’s a fantastic achievement.

“We are looking forward to showcasing, as we do every year, just how vital our education professionals are to every facet of this country. Teachers, leaders and support staff all play such an important role in schools: this is our chance to say thank you for all that they do.”

The winners of the Tes Schools Awards will be announced on Friday 23rd June at a gala awards night at the Grosvenor Park Hotel in London.

The teachers and schools from Sussex and Surrey included in the 2023 Tes Schools Awards shortlist are:

Community Engagement Initiative of the Year

  • Hurstpierpoint College, West Sussex
  • The Turing School, East Sussex

Staff Wellbeing School of the Year

  • The Southwater Infant Academy, West Sussex

Teaching Assistant of the Year

  • Emma Smith – The Southwater Infant Academy, West Sussex

Central team leader of the year

  • Sarah Grantham – Barfield Prep School, Surrey

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Setting of the Year

  • Brighton College Prep School, East Sussex
  • Sutton High School, Surrey

Inclusive School of the Year

  • The Winston Churchill School, Surrey

Specialist Provision School of the Year

  • LVS Hassocks, West Sussex
  • Moon Hall School, Surrey

Headteacher of the year (state schools)

  • Nazya Ghalib – Pathways Education School, Farnham, Surrey

Boarding School of the Year

  • ACS International School, Surrey
  • Eastbourne College, East Sussex

Independent Prep School of the Year

  • Cottesmore School, West Sussex

Independent Senior School of the Year

  • Caterham School, Surrey
  • Hurstpierpoint College, West Sussex
  • Notre Dame School, Surrey

To see the full shortlist, visit


Previous post Aston Medical School given full approval by the General Medical Council
Next post Top marks for IFtL multi-academy trust Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Conference